Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 9th, 2008

This isn’t really my thing. But I thought it was very cute.

Baby Announcements like movie posters!

Read Full Post »

I somehow got sent a free subscription to Woman’s Day. One article in the most recent issue was about ‘free websites’.

As a way for me to keep things in one spot, I am listing them here:

Here are some sites I’ve used that I’ve really enjoyed in the past:

  • LiveMocha (language)
  • Pandora (music…GREAT site)
  • Accuradio (music…especially great during the Holidays)
  • 800-FREE-411 (free alternative to 411)
  • Cozi (family calendar organizer)
  • Of course my favorite: PaperBackSwap (where you can get free books for the cost of mailing your books out)

I know I have others I’ve used…will add on as I remember.

Read Full Post »

When I was younger and traveling across Europe, I joined an international group that allowed for visits with local families for a few days so you could see what life was like there. I was able to ‘hang out’ with the locals in Wales with a female doctor. She lived in a stone house overlooking the ocean. The lanes were so narrow, only one car could pass at a time. That was the first place I saw hedgehogs. (hedgehogs would be to Wales what armadillos are to us) And I know why ‘stinging nettles’ are called stinging nettles.

I also got to stay with a young artist couple in Bath. (As I was repeatedly corrected, pronounced “B-ah-th”!) They had some, uh, interesting foliage in their backyard.

I also got to see Scotland with a couple of teenager boys. We exchanged ‘lingos’. I think they found my American accent interesting…and I found their Scottish adorable.

Having said that, I was reading an article in the Travel section of the newspaper. There was a list of ‘home exchange’ sites. (think The Holiday with Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet)

Many of them do ‘hospitality’ exchanges…which is like what I did…having someone come visit you in your home while you are home…to ‘host’.

However, if you are really brave…and trusting, you could go in whole hog and do a home exchange.

I don’t know if I am that trusting. I’d like to think I was. And I know “I” am trustworthy. 🙂 But you never know. Most (if not all) of the sites ‘testify’ that in the many years they’ve been up, they’ve never had problems with exchanges.
Maybe I should be more trusting of my fellow Man.

Read Full Post »