Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 16th, 2009

Two weeks ago, I returned to work…very reluctantly. I SO wanted to be home with my baby.
Intellectually, B and I talked about the return: The Day would arrive. We’d prepare by doing this and that. He’d take him, and I would pick up. It was all nice, clean, and simple.
Until The Day came.
B asked me if I wanted to go with him to drop him off. I responded, “Are you crazy?! You’ll never get me to leave that place.”
So I went to work…and didn’t allow myself to even call.
When I went to pick him up, he was SO tired, he looked drugged. (must explain: he never liked sleeping anyway…so this 2 month old baby-who should be sleeping 16-20 hours a day…had two naps of 10 minutes each.) I got him home and to my breast. He fell asleep and only woke up for feed through the night until the next morning.
I was SO depressed. Was this all the interaction I would get with my son 5 days out of 7?!
I admit, it got a little better. But still really difficult.
The daycare is nice. They are more concerned about cleanliness than I am. (bed linens changed every day, nobody walks into the room with street shoes on, baby’s hand washed after every diaper change, etc.) But my baby doesn’t get the undivided attention he gets at home. What if they leave him in his cage (because admittedly, it looks like one) all day just staring up into the fluorescent lights? (B said he did this one day when he dropped him off.) Or he’s placed in the bouncy seat all by himself…as I’ve seen.
Yeah, yeah. He’s less than three months. What else is he going to do? He can’t walk over to the other kids. Or tell them what he wants. He’s such a good baby, he normally doesn’t even cry to get their attention!
That’s why I feel like I may have to resort to bribery.
Does that sound a little extreme? Well, this is my child! Of course it’s not overt…that’s just tacky.
I mean, I may bring nice, homemade cookies or cake that I baked an ‘extra’ one of. Compliment the ladies on this or that.
I don’t know if it will work…but can’t hurt. Right? Has anyone else done this? Any pointers?

This is what I’ve come to. Bribery!

Read Full Post »